Face natural phenomena

Namazu

Join the seismologists to discover an “active seismic zone”!

Duration: 6 minutes

Discover the monitoring and research laboratory of a team of seismologists, the “Namazu” team, based on a seismic fault with unstable activity.

Join their expedition and experience a thrilling adventure!

Experience

  • Roller coaster accessible from 1.20 m

Namazu, voted Best New Attraction in Europe by Parksmania!

The Namazu animation has been named Best New Attraction in Europe at the Parksmania Awards 2021.
The Parksmania Awards enjoy international recognition, and include awards for major European parks such as Puy du Fou, Futuroscope and Europa-Park.

The source of earthquakes: Namazu

Before scientific explanations were available, the Japanese believed that an earthquake resulted from the jolts of an underground dragon, on whose spine Japan rests.

For almost half a millennium, it’s been a Namazu, a giant catfish living in the mud of the deep, that’s been held responsible. The god who immobilizes it sometimes falls asleep, and the Namazu takes advantage of this to try and free itself, causing new earthquakes. If the catfish has replaced the dragon, it may be because these fish are sensitive to electrical signals, a possible precursor to an earthquake…

Join the “Namazu” expedition!

You’ll discover an environment that’s highly evocative of the earthquake theme, and you’ll immediately be immersed in the atmosphere: the area seems to have been shaped by an earthquake that has impacted both the landscape and the buildings. The ground seems to rise up in layers, with cracks and fissures appearing on paths and buildings.

The Namazu scientific team has set up its seismic monitoring and research laboratory on a particularly unstable fault. Its seismic activity enables a wide range of readings and facilitates research. Despite this, the area remains dangerous, and although the buildings are earthquake-resistant, the area is often evacuated for safety reasons.

Before taking specially-designed all-terrain vehicles into rugged terrain to join the Namazu team in the field, you’ll be invited to enter the advanced base in groups to meet the Namazu team’s chief scientist.

Discover the animation teaser!

Follow the installation of the animation in videos!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Namazu on the map

Namazu on the map-namazu

Vulcania 2023 – HomeContact us – Legal noticesCookies policy

Assistant virtuel

Partez en exploration !
Vulcania : Parc d'attraction en Auvergne

Namazu

Accompagnez des sismologues pour découvrir une “zone sismique active” !

Découvrez le laboratoire de surveillance et de recherche d’une équipe de sismologues, l’équipe “Namazu”, basé sur une faille sismique à l’activité instable.

Rejoignez leur expédition et vivez une aventure pleine d’émotions !

Ouverture pour l’été 2021

Namazu : nouveauté 2021 sur le thème des séismes à Vulcania

A l’origine des séismes : le Namazu

Avant de disposer d’explications scientifiques, les japonais pensaient qu’un tremblement de terre résultait des soubresauts d’un dragon souterrain sur l’échine duquel est posé le Japon.

 

Depuis près d’un demi-millénaire, c’est plutôt un Namazu, poisson-chat géant vivant dans la vase des profondeurs, qui est tenu pour responsable. Le dieu qui l’immobilise s’endort parfois, et le Namazu en profite pour tenter de se libérer, causant ainsi de nouveaux séismes. Si le poisson-chat a supplanté le dragon, c’est peut-être parce que ces poissons sont sensibles aux signaux électriques, possible signe précurseur d’un séisme…

Rejoignez l’expédition “Namazu” !

Vous découvrirez un environnement très évocateur du thème des tremblements de terre et serez tout de suite plongés dans l’ambiance : la zone semble avoir été modelée par un séisme ayant impacté aussi bien le paysage que le bâti. Le sol semble se soulever par strates, des failles et lézardes apparaissent sur les chemins et les constructions.

 

L’équipe scientifique Namazu a établi son laboratoire de surveillance et de recherche en sismologie sur une faille particulièrement instable. Son activité sismique permet de nombreux relevés et facilite les recherches. Malgré tout, la zone reste dangereuse, bien que les bâtiments soient de conception parasismique, le secteur est souvent évacué par mesure de sécurité.

 

Avant d’emprunter des véhicules tout terrain spécialement conçus pour accéder aux zones accidentées afin de rejoindre l’équipe Namazu en place sur le terrain, vous serez invités à entrer par groupe dans la base avancée pour y retrouver la chef scientifique de l’équipe Namazu.

Découvrez le teaser de l’animation !